Results: Women’s Hockey Fan Awards

The results for the women’s hockey awards, as voted on by the fans, are in. There were five categories to vote for: Rookie of the Year, Player of the Year, Defender of the Year, Unsung Hero and Moment of the Year.

Each category had three nominees. The winners, along with the nominees and percentage of votes each nominee received, are listed below:

Rookie of the Year: Karlie Lund (71.2%)
Runner ups: Kimiko Marinacci (15.4%), Stephanie Sucharda (13.5%)

Karlie Lund led the Tigers in scoring with 39 points. Lund, along with classmates Stephanie Sucharda and Kimiko Marinacci, started in every game this season. While Lund was a staple on offense, both Sucharda and Marinacci played big roles on the blue line.

Player of the Year: Kimberly Newell (75.7 percent)
Runner ups: Kelsey Koelzer (18.7%), Karlie Lund

Newell was one of the top goaltenders in the country. She finished with a career-high .937 save percentage, which is also a single-season program record. Newell backstopped the Tigers to 18 wins and earned a program-record 50th career victory this year.

Defender of the Year: Kelsey Koelzer (63.5 percent)
Runner ups: Stephanie Sucharda (25%) and Molly Strabley (11.5%)

Koelzer was one of the best offensive defenders in the country, but her defensive game also improved this year. Koelzer’s 33 points ranked second on the team.

Unsung Hero: Jaimie McDonell (38.9 percent)
Runner ups: Karen MacDonald (37%) and Cristin Shanahan (24.1%)

The alternate captain appeared in all 33 games and finished with 22 points, tied for fourth on the team. MacDonald played in 30, while the captain Shanahan appeared in every game.

Moment of the Year: Princeton wins the Ivy League championship (51.5 percent)
Runner ups: Tigers qualify for NCAA tournament (36.4%), Princeton wins program-record 21st game (12.1%)

The Tigers captured their second Ivy League title in team history and their first in a decade. Princeton was awarded the Ivy League trophy in its last regular-season game of the year, a win over Union.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *